Thanking the Uniting Church

Member for Schubert, Stephan Knoll MP, recently took the opportunity to thank local Uniting Church Reverend Christine Manning in parliament during the second reading of The Uniting Church in Australia) Membership of Trust Amendment Bill.

The Bill amends the Uniting Church in Australia Act 1977 to remove the age restriction (70) on the appointment of members of the Uniting Church in Australia Property Trust (South Australia).

The Uniting Church has just under 3,000 followers in Schubert. “What I like, and this has very much been my experience with the Uniting Church in Schubert, is that on each of the congregation websites there is a warning: that upon coming to a church service you will be greeted by a warm handshake and a smile as wide as the surrounding countryside. I think that is a beautiful attitude and certainly one that I have experienced in my time as the member for Schubert,” Mr Knoll said.
“They are at the coalface dealing with a lot of family issues, dealing with heartache, death, birth, marriage, and the whole life cycle that ties into a person's life experiences through the eyes of church clergy.
“I am especially extremely grateful to Reverend Christine Manning, who is the local reverend for the congregation known as the Barossa Uniting Churches. It is fantastic to see Christine is so much a part of her Uniting Church community but also a part of the broader Schubert community. For that I would like to thank her.

“The Bill has been referred to a select committee for an examination. Should you wish to write a submission, please do so by Friday 17 April to The Secretary Select Committee on The Uniting Church in Australia (Membership of Trust) Amendment Bill Parliament House North Terrace ADELAIDE SA 5000.”

Please note submissions may be displayed on the Parliament SA website unless confidentiality is requested and granted by the Committee.

Copies of the Bill and all other relevant material can be obtained from the Committee’s web site at Inquiries are to be directed to the Secretary on - ph (08) 8237 9220, fax (08) 8237 9213 or e-mail [email protected]